Organisation - Structure: Board of Directors

The Board is convened annually at the initiative of the Chair. It considers all matters of the Centre relating to the previous year's activities and the activities scheduled for the coming year.

The European Centre's Board of Directors consists of
  • nine members appointed by the Secretary-General of the United Nations
  • six members appointed by the Host Government
  • the Representative of the Secretary-General of the United Nations, normally the Director-General of the United Nations Office at Vienna (UNOV), who is the Chairman of the Board
  • and the Executive Director, who is ex officio a non-voting member of the Board
The nine Board Members appointed by the Secretary-General of the United Nations are nominated and appointed as (i) experts in the field of social welfare and development, (ii) nationals of States, other than Austria, collaborating with the Centre, and (iii) representing countries at different stages of social and economic development. They are appointed for three years, with mandates normally renewable for a second and occasionally also for a third term.

The Board of Directors (in alphabetical order)
Austrian Mandate

Federal Ministry of Labour, Social Affairs and Consumer Protection
Susanne Keindl
Board Member

Manfred Kornfehl
Board Member Alternate

Marc Pointecker
Board Member Alternate

Andreas Schaller
Board Member Alternate

Federal Ministry of Finance
Bundesministerium für Finanzen (BMF)
Peter Part
Board Member

Federal Ministry for Science, Research and Economy
Bundesministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Wirtschaft (BMWFW)
Matthias Reiter-Pázmándy
Board Member

Bettina Glaser
Board Member Alternate

Vienna City Administration, Department 24 - Health Care and Social Welfare Planning
Magistrat der Stadt Wien, Magistratsabteilung 24 - Gesundheits- und Sozialplanung
Susanne Guld
Board Member

Federation of Austrian Trade Unions
Österreichischer Gewerkschaftsbund (ÖGB)
David Mum
Board Member

Austrian Federal Economic Chamber
Wirtschaftskammer (WKO)
Christa Schweng
Board Member

International Mandate
Ministry of Social Affairs - State of Israel
Renee Techelet
Board Member

Institute for the Development of Social Services (IRSS)
Nomination pending
Board Member

Ministry of Labour, Family, Social Protection and Elderly
Lacramioara Corches
Board Member

Institute for Labour and Family Research
Kvetoslava Repkova
Board Member

Ministry of Labour, Family and Social Affairs
Davor Dominkus
Board Member

Institute for Older Persons and Social Services - IMSERSO
César Antón Beltrán
Board Member

Maria Luz Cid Ruiz
Board Member Alternate

Ministry of Health and Social Affairs
Tony Malmborg (nominated)
Board Member

Federal Social Insurance Office
Sabina Littmann-Wernli
Board Member