I-CUE: Improving the Capacity and Usability of EUROMOD

05/2005 - 04/2008

Contact: Orsolya Lelkes

This was a EUROMOD-related project that started in May 2005 and was supported by the FP6 Research Infrastructures Action as a Design Study. The main aims were to start the process of expanding EUROMOD to cover the 10 New Member States and to make EUROMOD easier to use, especially when it is dealing with 25 systems and dataset.

The aim of I-CUE was to re-design and up-grade EUROMOD in the light of:
  • enlargement
  • lessons learned from operating and using the first, prototype version
The tasks carried out in the project were structured so that together they provided the basis for:
  1. increasing EUROMOD's capacity to address a very wide range of social science questions
  2. incorporating the 10 new Member States
  3. improving ease of use and accessibility
  4. improving the quality of results by enhancing comparatibility across countries
  5. reducing the resources necessary to maintain, update and develop EUROMOD in the future

Project Papers:

Download I-CUE Final Report

This project involved the European Centre and the ISER in Essex.
The European Centre co-ordinated and managed the work with the New Member States teams.
Orsolya Lelkes (team leader), Michael Fuchs, Horacio Levy, Mattia Makovec

ISER, IHS and CAPP worked on improving the model in a technical sense so that it is easier to use and capable of handling 25 countries.
Holly Sutherland (ISER, project co-ordinator), Francesco Figari (ISER), Daniela Mantovani (CAPP), Christine Lietz (IHS), Alari Paulus (ISER).

Country Teams for the New Member States
The NMS teams provided expertise in respective tax-benefit systems and helped to prepare input data for EUROMOD from national micro databases. They joined the previous team of researchers from the EU15 member states.

Panos Pashardes - Economics Research Centre, University of Cyprus
Demetra Komodromou - Economics Research Centre, University of Cyprus
Czech Republic
Kamil Galuscak - Czech National Bank
Jozef Zubricky - CERGE-EI
Silja Lüpsik - Ministry of Environment
Andres Vőrk - PRAXIS Center for Policy Studies
Péter Szivós - TÁRKI
Peter Hegedus - TÁRKI
Alf Vanags - Baltic International Centre for Economic Policy Studies (BICEPS)
Mark Chandler - Baltic International Centre for Economic Policy Studies (BICEPS), Stockholm School of Economics (SSE) in Riga
Tatjana Stirling - Department for Work and Pensions, UK
Romas Lazutka - Department for Social Work, University of Vilnius
Miljanic Brinkworth Maya, Ministry for the Family and Social Solidarity
Vella Kevin, Ministry of Finance
Olivier Bargain - IZA, Bonn
Leszek Morawski - University of Warsaw
Michal Myck - DIW
Mieczyslaw Socha - University of Warsaw
Marek Porubsky - Ministry of Finance
Jana Antalicová - Social Affairs and Family, Ministry of Labour
Boris Majcen - IER
Mitja Cok - Ljubljana University

User Group
To ensure that the work in I-CUE was done in such a way as to take the needs of researchers into account, all Design Study tasks were open to the scrutiny of, and advice from, a EUROMOD User Group. This Group consisted of a selection of individuals from the consortium that constructed the first version of EUROMOD plus some new and prospective users. Plans for the Design Study, work in progress and final results were presented at meetings of this Group, and members with particular expertise were consulted on a more frequent, ad hoc basis. This process involved for some Group members to volunteer to test some of the new model components and to actively participate in the Study. The organisation of the Group also served as a focus for the co-ordination of information dialogue with the wider EUROMOD consortium and with other stakeholders.
  • Tim Callan (Chair) - ESRI, Dublin
  • Olivier Bargain - IZA, Bonn
  • Herwig Immervoll - OECD
  • Manos Matsaganis - AUEB, Athens
  • Cathal O'Donoghue - RERC, Teagasc, Galway
  • Lucinda Platt - Sociology Department, University of Essex
  • Péter Szivós - TÁRKI, Budapest
  • Panos Tsakloglou - AUEB, Athens
  • Gerlinde Verbist - University of Antwerp
  • Heikki Viitamäki - VATT, Helsinki
Financed by: European Commission, DG Research, 6th Framework Programme